HAPPY NEW YEARS- THE DEATH OF A CHILD

WRITTEN 01/01/1998
New Years Day brought him to me,
in a rush of ectstasy, he was so small and wonderful
my miracle for all to see.
I was so sure I could do it all-
Superwoman from the start but when I held him
fear would come that our lives were falling apart.
Love was a war zone, nerves were a wreck
there was little time for 3 kids.
career was important, but so was he
and something stayed scarey and hid…
choosing was impossible with pressures from all sides
The choice was made
But not by me
in march when Danny died.
That’s when the man who had
claimed he loved me
brought my heart to a screeching halt
when he turned on me accusingly
screaming it was all my fault.
he looked like he wanted to spit in my face-
but he hit it instead-
the blood i still taste…
And all those “loved ones” around
whispered about my killing my child,
the fear grew deep as accusations ran wild..
Maybe I did it, my own thoughts said,,,
and I wished to be with him,,
I wished to be dead….
But I knew I couldn’t be with him if I died
since God as well had taken their side….
As daily the cruel words hurt and bit…
nightly the man I thought loved me would hit…
Many years later I still think of my baby…
to wonder if I could have saved him…
just maybe??

Leave a comment

Phone 515-3572255 Hours anytime
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close